SDL

I’ve been playing recently with SDL, and I have decided after much thrashing about and trying different up-and-coming programming languages, that going back to C++ will probably be the most enjoyable. (What can I say, I’m sadistic as hell.) It’s going to be fun going back to controlling everything and having to put a little more “craftsmanship” into my software. Also, it doesn’t get much more portable than SDL and C++. For the most part, porting to a new platform should be as simple as modifying a couple of things here and there, running configure and then make. Probably the biggest advantage of compiled languages is that you don’t have to worry about what is already available on the user’s machine. C++ programs are self contained, just ship the binary, any dynamically linked libraries and the support files you need and you’re all set. I just wish I had some artistic talent when it comes to drawing. Oh well, the results should be comically interesting for my first couple of games at least.

Leave a Reply

