Damnit, I can’t make up my mind…

I swear I must be schizophrenic or something.  I think I’ve finally decided on “the” programming language for right now.  I’ve been taking a serious look at Ruby, and I have to say, it does look pretty nice.  It looks like I could actually be productive in it.  I don’t want to use compiled languages anymore, the whole compile phase just interrupts my work flow far, far too much.  I also don’t want to have to worry about memory management anymore, been there, done that, it’s not a picnic.  Programming needs to be “fun” again for me.  Ruby looks like it could be very fun.  It also looks like it could have that “natural” feel that I’m seeking.  The feeling that you can’t describe, but you know when you get it.  It also looks equally suitable for web and GUI development, as well as for general system scripting.  Ruby is also extremely cross platform, even to include the Java and .NET platforms.  According to my preliminary research, it is relatively slow, compared to most other programming languages, but they are addressing that problem by moving from being purely interpreted to compiling to byte code and running on a virtual machine.  This should bring Ruby’s performance at least into the same neighborhood as Python, which will be more than acceptable for most tasks.  Well, hopefully Ruby meets my needs.

Leave a Reply

