A Revelation

This morning I woke up early, and as I was performing my usual early morning rituals, I had an epiphany of sorts. I realized that the traditional desktop is the old guard. It is not dead or dying, but it is gently being complemented by newer more complex, highly networked software with capabilities that were unimaginable just a few short years ago. With the advent of consumer grade multi-core computers and widely available high performance data networks, the power of languages like Erlang will truly be an advantage. This is the future. We are on the edge of a new era in computing, and Erlang is one of the few platforms that is uniquely positioned to take full advantage of it. So anyway, scratch my last post, Erlang is the future, at least it is going to be a big part of my future. When I need a desktop GUI I will most likely write it with C and GTK+, but the back end will almost certainly be coded in Erlang.

Leave a Reply

